NJEA PAC 2021 endorsements

The 125-member political action committee of the New Jersey Education Association (NJEA) has voted to endorse Gov. Phil Murphy as well as 97 legislative candidates for election this November. Those endorsements include 30 Senate candidates and 67 Assembly candidates. Eighty-four endorsements were for Democratic candidates and 13 were for Republican candidates.  Candidate statements

NJEA President Marie Blistan praised the candidates who earned endorsement. “Our members take this process very seriously and only endorse those candidates who have a demonstrated commitment to public education and a record of support. The candidates who earned these endorsements know that it comes with our pledge that we will work hard to get them elected and our expectation that we will work together for the benefit of New Jersey’s students and our public schools. We back up our endorsements with action because we know the importance of having leaders in place who share our values and our belief in our public schools.

NJEA Vice President Sean M. Spiller had particular praise for Gov. Phil Murphy, who again earned NJEA members’ enthusiastic endorsement. “In 2017, our members endorsed Gov. Murphy on the basis of his promises and his progressive vision for public education. This year, he earned our endorsement on the basis of his outstanding record as governor. He’s kept and even exceeded his promises to New Jersey families and public school employees while guiding New Jersey through some of the most challenging times in our state’s history. We are excited to work until November to get him reelected so we can continue New Jersey’s progress together.”

NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Steve Beatty noted that legislative endorsements also matter to our students and their families. “We are proud to support all of these legislative candidates. They have demonstrated their commitment to our students and our public schools and they are going to see our commitment to getting them elected in November. We owe it to our students to model the importance of civic engagement and we owe it to them to help build a fairer, stronger future for them. Supporting these candidates lets us do both of those things at the same time.”

NJEA PAC voted on the recommendations of local interview teams from each legislative district. The complete list of endorsements are:

  • LD 1: No endorsement for Senate; John Capizola, Jr. (D) and Erik Simonsen (R) for Assembly
  • LD 2: Vince Mazzeo (D) for Senate and John Armato (D) and Caren Fitzpatrick (D) for Assembly
  • LD 3: Stephen Sweeney (D) for Senate and John Burzichelli (D) and Adam Taliaferro (D) for Assembly
  • LD 4: Fred H. Madden (D) for Senate and Paul Moriarty (D) and Gabriela Mosquera (D) for Assembly
  • LD 5: Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D) for Senate and William Spearman (D) and William Moen (D) for Assembly
  • LD 6: James Beach (D) for Senate and Louis Greenwald (D) and Pamela Lampitt (D) for Assembly
  • LD 7: Troy Singleton (D) for Senate and Herb Conaway (D) and Carol A. Murphy (D) for Assembly
  • LD 8: No endorsement
  • LD 9: No endorsement
  • LD 10: Emma Mammano (D) for Senate and Gregory P. McGuckin (R) for Assembly
  • LD 11: Vin Gopal (D) for Senate and Joann Downey (D) and Eric Houghtaling (D) for Assembly
  • LD 12: Ronald Dancer (R) and Robert Clifton (R) for Assembly
  • LD 13: Vincent Solomeno III (D) for Senate and Allison Friedman (D) and Erin Howard (D) for Assembly
  • LD 14: Linda Greenstein (D) for Senate and Dan Benson (D) and Wayne DeAngelo (D) for Assembly
  • LD 15: Shirley K. Turner (D) for Senate and Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D) and Anthony S. Verrelli (D) for Assembly
  • LD 16: Andrew Zwicker (D) for Senate and Roy Freiman (D) and Sadaf Jaffer (D) for Assembly
  • LD 17: Bob Smith (D) for Senate and Joseph V. Egan (D) and Joe Danielsen (D) for Assembly
  • LD 18: Patrick J. Diegnan, Jr. (D) for Senate and Robert J. Karabinchak (D) and Sterley S. Stanley (D) for Assembly
  • LD 19: Joseph F. Vitale (D) for Senate and Craig J Coughlin (D) and Yvonne Lopez (D) for Assembly
  • LD 20: Joe Cryan (D) for Senate and Reginald Atkins (D) and Annette Quijano (D) for Assembly
  • LD 21: Jon Bramnick (R) for Senate and Anjali Mehrotra (D) and Nancy Munoz (R) for Assembly
  • LD 22: Nicholas Scutari (D) for Senate and Linda Carter (D) and James Kennedy (D) for Assembly
  • LD 23: No endorsement
  • LD 24: No endorsement
  • LD 25: Anthony Bucco (R) for Senate and Aura Dunn (R) for Assembly
  • LD 26: Christine Clarke (D) for Senate and Pamela Fadden (D) for Assembly
  • LD 27: Richard J. Codey (D) for Senate and Mila M. Jasey (D) and John F. McKeon (D) for Assembly
  • LD 28: Ronald Rice (D) for Senate and Cleopatra Tucker (D) and Ralph Caputo (D) for Assembly
  • LD 29: No endorsement
  • LD 30: Edward “Ned” Thomson (R) and Sean Kean (R) for Assembly
  • LD 31: Sandra B. Cunningham (D) for Senate and William Sampson (D) for Assembly
  • LD 32: Nicholas J. Sacco (D) for Senate and Angelica M. Jimenez (D) and Pedro Mejia (D) for Assembly
  • LD 33: No endorsement for Senate and Annette Chaparro (D) and Raj Mukherji (D) for Assembly
  • LD 34: Nia H. Gill (D) for Senate and Thomas P. Giblin (D) and Britnee N. Timberlake (D) for Assembly
  • LD 35: Nellie Pou (D) for Senate and Shavonda E. Sumter (D) and Benjie E. Wimberly (D) for Assembly
  • LD 36: Paul A. Sarlo (D) for Senate and Clinton Calabrese (D) and Gary S. Schaer (D) for Assembly
  • LD 37: Gordon M. Johnson (D) for Senate and Shama A. Haider (D) and Ellen J. Park (D) for Assembly
  • LD 38: Joseph A. Lagana (D) for Senate and Lisa Swain (D) and P. Christopher Tully (D) for Assembly
  • LD 39: Ruth Dugan (D) for Senate and Karlito Almeda (D) and Melinda Iannuzzi (D) for Assembly.
  • LD 40: Kristin Corrado (R) for Senate and Kevin Rooney (R) and Christopher DePhillips (R) for Assembly

The New Jersey Education Association represents more than 200,000 teachers, certificated staff, educational support professionals, and retired and student members. NJEA’s mission is to advance and protect the rights, benefits, and interests of members, and promote a quality system of public system of public education for all students.